Android 11 - 'Ask every time' - should the user be asked to give permissions for every new contact?
When giving permissions for camera and location during the creation of a new nearby contact, user is given three choices in dialog popups: Allow while in use, Just this time, and Deny.
If the user select 'Just this time' - what does that mean? Should the user be asked to grant permissions for Briar to access their camera or location every time they try to create a neaby contact? Or not?
in Pixel2, Android 11, user is not asked it every time.
Steps to reproduce: precoditions: Briar is denied access to location and camera.
- Tap + to create new nearby contact
- Tap continue
- Dialog/popup comes up and asks the user to grant permission for Briar to access their camera. User selects Just this time.
- Dialog/popup comes up and asks the user to grant permission for Briar to access their location. User selects Just this time.
- User continues the process and creates a nearby contact.
- User then starts a new process to create another neaby contact.
- User taps continue.
- User expects to be asked again to give Briar permission to access the camera and location.
- User is not asked for their permission, instead, after tapping Continue, user is shown a message: your device will be visible to other bluetooth devices during 120 seconds and the options are OK and cancel.
- User taps OK
- the process can be completed successfully.
Question: Should user be asked to give permission for Briar to access their camera and location every time the app needs to do it? (ie for creation of every new nearby contact?)